## Official Minutes of the Monticello Community School District Board of Education for the Regular Meeting of July 22, 2024

The Board of Education regular meeting was held on Monday, July 22, 2024 in the Board Room at the High School at 850 East Oak Street, Monticello, Iowa. Board President Craig Stadtmueller called the meeting to order at 6:02 pm. Board member John Schlarmann led the Pledge of Allegiance and read the Monticello CSD mission statement. Board Secretary, Judy Hayen, did roll call. The following directors were present: Schlarmann, Rieken, Amsler, Stadtmueller, and Norton (arrived at 6:10pm). Absent: None. Others present were Judy Hayen, Marcy Gillmore, Brian Jaeger, Pete Temple, Shannon Kehoe, Todd Werner, Robyn Ponder, and Shannon Guyer.

Motion by Schlarmann, seconded by Amsler to approve the agenda as presented with the exception of deleting Item 4.02-Consider Approval of Bid for Water Heaters for the High School, due to not receiving all the bids. Ayes: Schlarmann, Rieken, Amsler, and Stadtmueller. Nays: None. Motion carried.

Looking forward to the start of another school year! New teachers report on August 19, all other teachers report on August 20, and Open House is August 21.

Principals Shannon Kehoe, Todd Werner, and Nick Schauf (via a video) each gave a building report. Robyn Ponder gave her curriculum report and updated the Board on the professional learning that is taking place this summer. All of them went over their handbook changes for this year and wanted to give a shout out to our maintenance and custodial staff on all their work this summer. The buildings are looking great! Superintendent Brian Jaeger also gave his report which included a recap of the bids we received for the bins and building on the Fraser land. He also showed the Board the elementary bond project page on our website.

Deb Bowman, Dave Balster, and John Bader presented a drawing to the Board of a monument sign that they would like to donate to the district. Parts of the sign are from the old Middle School included the Monticello Public Schools and the year 1923, and will include the plaque that was located in the middle school entry way that shows the Board members. The Class of 1965 will be donating the sign, 100% of the cost will be donated. The sign should be completed before school starts.

Motion by Amsler, seconded by Schlarmann to approve the donation of a monument sign in front of the High School from the Class of 1965 as presented. Ayes: Schlarmann, Rieken, Amsler, Stadtmueller, and Norton. Nays: None. Motion carried.

Motion by Schlarmann, seconded by Norton, to approve the following 2024-25 handbooks as presented: Elementary Student & Parent Handbook, Elementary Faculty Handbook, Middle School Student & Parent Handbook, Middle School Faculty Handbook; High School Student & Parent Handbook, High School Faculty Handbook, Alternative High School Handbook, Activities Department Handbook, the 1-to-1 Technology Handbook, and the Panther Academy Parent Handbook. Ayes: Schlarmann, Amsler, Stadtmueller, and Norton. Nays: Rieken. Motion carried.

Motion by Schlarmann, seconded by Amsler to approve the 2024-25 IASB Legislative Priorities as follows: Student Achievement, State Supplemental Aid, Mental Health, and School Safety. Ayes: Schlarmann, Amsler, Stadtmueller, and Norton. Nays: Rieken. Motion carried.

Motion by Rieken, seconded by Schlarmann to approve the first reading of the following Board policies: #502.1 Compulsory Attendance, #502.1R1 Chronic Absenteeism and Truancy, #502.4 Student Attendance and Instructional Time, and #608.3 Title I Parent and Family Engagement as presented. Ayes: Schlarmann, Rieken, Amsler, Stadtmueller, and Norton. Nays: None. Motion carried.

Motion by Rieken, seconded by Norton to approve the second and final reading of the following Board policies: #400.2 Recruitment of Personnel, #406.3 Unpaid Leaves of Absence, #406.6 Pay Deductions, #408.3 Occupational Exposure to Bloodborne Pathogens, #506.2R1 Special Health Services Regulations, #802.1

School District Revenues, #802.7 Transfer of Funds, #803.4 Financial Reports and Annual Report, #803.5 Audit, #804.2 Financial Records, and #1005.4 Fundraising as presented. Ayes: Schlarmann, Rieken, Amsler, Stadtmueller, and Norton. Nays: None. Motion carried.

President Stadtmueller asked that these items be removed from the consent agenda and voted on separately: #5.07 Approval of 28E Agreement with Kirkwood Community College K-12 Partnership Program – Jones County thru June 30, 2030 including the 2024-25 District Enrollment Form, #5.08 Approval of Shared Personnel Agreement between Kirkwood Community College and the Tipton Community School District for a Work-Based Learning Coordinator thru the 2026-2027 School Year, #5.09 Approval of Memorandum of Understanding with Kirkwood Community College for the Workplace Learning Connection, and #5.10 Approval of Contract for 4+ Transitional Services with Kirkwood Community College. Motion made by Schlarmann, seconded by Norton to approve these items as presented. Ayes: Schlarmann, Rieken, Amsler, and Norton. Nays: None. Stadtmueller abstained. Motion carried.

Motion by Norton, seconded by Schlarmann to approve the rest of the consent agenda items as presented. Ayes: Schlarmann, Rieken, Amsler, Stadtmueller, and Norton. Nays: None. Motion carried.

The Board wanted to let the public know the elementary bond project page on our website will be a great place to direct people about the bond election. They also wanted to thank the Class of 1965 for the donation of the monument sign!

The following announcements were made:

A manaryad.

- a. Next Work Session is Wednesday, August 14 @ 6:00pm
- b. New Teacher Orientation is Monday, August 19 at 8:00am
- c. All Staff Welcome Back/Employee Recognition Luncheon is Wednesday, August 21 at 11:30am
- d. School starts Friday, August 23
- e. Next Board Meeting is Monday, August 26 at 6:00pm

Motion by Schlarmann, seconded by Norton to adjourn the meeting at 7:14pm. Ayes: Schlarmann, Rieken, Amsler, Stadtmueller, and Norton. Nays: None. Motion carried.

Approved:	Attest:	
Craig Stadtmueller, President	Judy Hayen, Board Secretary	