Voting Order: Schlarmann Beitz Mere Johnson Melchert

The Board of Education Special Meeting was called to order by President Angie Beitz at 9:00 AM. The following directors were present: Schlarmann, Beitz, Mere, Johnson, and Melchert. Absent: None. Also present were Gary McAndrew from McPherson & Jacobson, LLC and Board Secretary, Judy Hayen.

A motion was made by Mere, seconded by Melchert to approve the agenda as presented. Ayes: Schlarmann, Beitz, Mere, Johnson, Melchert. Nay: None. Motion carried.

It was moved by Schlarmann, seconded by Mere to move to closed session at 9:03 AM for the Superintendent Semi Finalist Interviews as per Iowa Code Chapter 21.5 (1.i) to evaluate the professional competency of an individual whose appointment, hiring, performance, or discharge is being considered when necessary to prevent needless and irreparable injury to that individual's reputation and that individual requests a closed session. By roll call vote: Schlarmann, aye; Beitz, aye; Mere, aye; Johnson, aye; Melchert, aye. Nay: None. Motion carried.

A recess for lunch was taken from 11:45 AM – 12:15 PM.

A motion was made by Schlarmann, seconded by Melchert to adjourn the closed session and move back to open session at 4:39 PM. Ayes: Schlarmann, Beitz, Mere, Johnson, Melchert. Nay: None. Motion carried.

It was moved by Schlarmann, seconded by Melchert to approve Ken Crawford and Dr. Brian Jaeger as the Superintendent Candidate Finalists to be interviewed on March 21 and March 22, 2016. Ayes: Schlarmann, Beitz, Mere, Johnson, Melchert. Nay: None. Motion carried.

There being no further business, the special meeting adjourned at 4:40 PM.

Approved:

Attest:

Angie Beitz, President

Judy Hayen, Board Secretary